Files
William Douglas 02d276564d Rework content deletion handling
Currently sys_rm_recursive was used in any instance of deleting swupd
content from the system (update, repair and bundle-remove). This can
cause user data loss when unkown files are in directories that swupd
is deleting.

To prevent this, this patch changes how deleting content in swupd
operates. Swupd content removal is now done with sys_rm and the return
value is checked in case the removal failed due to a directory that
still had files in it. When this specific failure occurs, the
directory is added to a new list for reprocessing removals as it is
expected once the rest of the deletes on the system occur the failures
will go away as the directories will be empty (these deletes are
processed in alphabetical reverse order so leaf directories are
processed first). If the removal fails again it is presumed the
contents of the directory are not files swupd knows about and as such
should be kept somewhere else.

For handling the retention of user data, directories (with only the
content unknown to swupd) are renamed (currently using a
.deleted.$timestamp. prefix of the old name) and stored at the same
directory level they were previously found with one exception. The
exception is for nested deleted content best illustrated with an
example:

/swupd-dir1/user-file1
/swupd-dir1/swupd-dir2/user-file2

When swupd tries to remove the /swupd-dir1 content, it will store the
user files as follows:

/.deleted.$timestamp1.swupd-dir1/user-file1
/.deleted.$timestamp1.swupd-dir1/.deleted.$timestamp1.swupd-dir2/user-file2

To demarcate what was part of swupd content vs user content.

Signed-off-by: William Douglas <william.douglas@intel.com>
2024-04-05 10:28:41 -07:00
..